Post 1 – June 21, 2024

Participants – Husband and wife, both in their 70’s. P1 is male and P2 is female.

Me: (As I’m arranging the table with my phone to record the session and preparing to take notes).

Thanks for agreeing to talk with me today. If you don’t mind me asking, why did you agree to participate in my project?

P1: I enjoy politics, I’m active in the local Republican Party, and I guess I’m curious about your motives.

Me: (speaking to P2) And you?

P2: I’m mostly just tagging along with him. I am interested, but not to the degree he is. (Smiles)

Me: As for my motives – I want to learn what you believe and why you believe it. That’s it. My readers are interested in your thoughts and so am I.

I will ask questions. If any of them make you feel uncomfortable, you can decline to answer.

I’m not here to present my own ideology or try to change yours.

P1: That’s good, won’t happen.

Me: Any questions before we get started?

P1: Who are your readers? (Attempting to find out my political affiliation).

Me: I have approximately 100,000 followers on a social media site and I have a blog. My readers are mostly Americans, but I have connections with people from all over the world and all walks of life. It’s amazing to me just how many people, all over the world, are engaged in our politics.

P1: Could I get a link to your site?

Me: Not today. After I complete my project I will post links to both my social media account and my blog so all participants can read what I’ve written. If I provided that information now, it would inevitably impact this process. I hope you understand.

P2: That makes sense, doesn’t it dear? (She puts her hand on his arm as if to say, “let’s move on,” I get the sense she has other things she would rather be doing).

P1: Yes, that’s fine.

Me: You said you were a Republican. Are you a current supporter of the Party’s presumptive nominee?

P1: Yes, very much so.

Me: Is there anything in particular, any singular policy or position, (of his), that is most compelling to you?

(They look at each other).

Both: Abortion.

Me: What would come in second or third?

P1: I don’t know, (looks at his wife, who shrugs), nothing else seems to elevate above the others. We support his entire agenda.

Me: It’s interesting that you used that word, agenda, because I had hoped to discuss his proposed agenda with you today, to get your thoughts.

But first I want to give you the chance to explore any subject you would like. Is there anything in particular you would like to discuss?

(They look at each other and both shake their heads).

P1: No, nothing in particular.

Me: Trump has mentioned a couple different agendas during his campaign speeches. He references Project 2025 and he talks about seeking “Retribution.” Are you familiar with these?

P1: I’ve heard of both, but I don’t think Project 2025 is his. When he talks about Retribution, he just means holding people accountable.

Me: Who? What people?

P1: Those who have attacked him, those who have weaponized the DOJ and law enforcement against him! He wants to hold the Deep State accountable!

Me: Do you support that?

P1: Absolutely! Don’t you?

Me: Oh, my readers are bored with my thoughts, let’s focus on yours! (I smile and wink to bring down the temperature, simultaneously reminding him that I’m not expressing my opinions).

Me: What does Retribution look like? What do you think he will do?

P1: He will put people in jail! He will prosecute those who have prosecuted him unfairly!

Me: Is it important, to you, that he follow established laws?

P1: Not really, I mean we can’t trust the system! He needs to do what he needs to do!

P2: He needs to start at the border!

P1: Yes, mass deportations! And lock up everyone who facilitated that invasion! That Mayorkas character needs to be in jail today!

(She pats his arm, reminding him to calm down).

Me: Should Mayorkas be afforded due process?

P1: Due process? (Chuckles) He deserves the same due process the American People got from him!

P2: He needs to feel as unsafe as we do! To worry about his family’s safety!

Me: Have you two experienced violence associated with immigrants?

P2: No, but that doesn’t mean the threat isn’t real! I haven’t been in a tornado either, but that doesn’t mean I don’t take precautions! (She becomes emotional, expressing genuine fear).

(He takes her hand to comfort her).

P1: The threat is very real and more importantly immigration is a weapon used by the Left to destroy America! To destroy our heritage!

Me: How so?

P1: (Looks at his wife) See!

(He appears to be suggesting I have a bias against him).

Me: No, I’m just trying to understand why you feel immigrants are destroying America and your heritage. How are they doing that?

P1: By coming here! By voting for Democrats! For living off our tax dollars! By having babies that instantly become citizens! By taking our jobs! Shall I continue?!

Me: No, I appreciate that. As for the heritage piece . . .

P1: Here we go!

P2: Just explain it to him honey, he’s being nice.

Me: I’ll be specific – Trump talks about immigrants “Poisoning our Blood.” Is that what you mean by destroying our culture?

P1: Yes! Isn’t that a problem for you?

P2: Honey! (Trying to calm him).

Me: That’s okay, this stuff can get emotional. Do you two personally know any immigrants?

P1: Yes, there is a family that lives just down the road from us. They raise cattle. I rent a few acres to them for grazing.

P2: It keeps him from having to mow it. (She chuckles) Wonderful people, hard working! Very hard working!

P1: But they are the exception!

Me: Meaning?

P1: They are not trafficking drugs or committing crimes are they? That’s why!

Me: Do you know any other immigrants?

P2: There are some folks who attend our church. One family has 3 beautiful little girls, one is friends with my granddaughter.

P1: Again, exceptions!

Me: Why do you believe these are exceptions?

P1: Don’t you listen to the news! That Mexican killed that white girl, (turns go his wife), where was that?

P2: I don’t remember.

P1: Anyway, he killed her, probably raped her too.

Me: Okay, so there’s thousands of immigrants . . . (P1 interrupts).

P1: Millions! There are millions flowing across the open border!

Me: Okay, let’s say you are correct, here is my question . . . Why is the one incident of violence extrapolated to all immigrants, but not the goodness you see in ones you know?

P2: Extrapolate?

Me: In other words, why don’t you think that most immigrants are like the ones you know vs the few incidents you hear about on TV?

(P2’s eyes open wide, both actually and apparently metaphorically).

P1: Because, like I said, they are exceptions.

Me: But how do we know that?

P2: I don’t know that we DO know that. Do we dear?

P1: I guess we can’t be sure, but I still think they are a threat. The border should not be open!

Me: Were you aware the Congress negotiated bipartisan legislation that would have funded more control over the border?

(Both shook their head no).

Me: Yes, and President Biden said he would sign it.

P2: Did he?

Me: No, because Donald Trump asked Congress not to pass it. He said he wanted it to remain a campaign issue.

P1: I don’t believe that for one second!

Me: I’m not expressing an opinion, it’s a fact. You’ll be able to find information online about it.

P1: Like I can trust that.

Me: Well, that’s my understanding. If you find out I’m wrong please let me know.

P1: I will.

Me: If you verify I’m right it would seem to be in conflict with the urgency to resolve the issue, wouldn’t it?

(No response).

Can we circle back to Trump’s plan for Retribution?

P1: Sure. (Seems happy to leave the subject of immigration).

Me: Does any aspect of that bother you? Retribution I mean.

P2: It does me. (Her husband gives her a look). Well it does! It doesn’t feel very Christian to me. (She returns a look of her own).

Me: People have told me that they worry that once we stop following the Rule of Law,  it’s a slippery slope to destroying Democracy and becoming a dictatorship.

Do you share those concerns?

P1: No, but you don’t seem to have a problem with Biden exercising those powers now! (Looks at his wife whose expression appears to say “don’t look at me.”)

Me: I don’t want President Biden to have the authority to break the law. If he does and is found guilty by a court of law, I want him to suffer the consequences just like anyone else.

Is that what you would want?

P1: Absolutely?

Me: Should Trump be held to that same standard?

P1: No because the process is unfair! It’s nothing but a Witch Hunt!

(P2 is looking down, slowly shaking her head, P1 doesn’t notice).

Me: How do we know it’s unfair?

P1: You don’t think that New York case was unfair? That had Biden’s fingerprints all over it!

Me: How so? I mean, that was a New York State case, not a federal case. Biden and the DOJ had no jurisdiction.

P1: I didn’t think you expressed opinions!

Me: Well, that’s not an opinion, that’s how the system works.

P1: So, you don’t think Joe Biden couldn’t pick up the phone and make a call?

Me: He could, but I would need to see evidence of that before I could draw a conclusion. I’ve not seen any, have you?

P2: (Looking at her husband) Have you heard of any?

P1: All I know is everyone is calling it a sham! Everyone!

Me: Just like everyone is calling Immigrants criminals? (Smiling)

P2: Apparently so.

(She grabs his hand and encourages him to smile, and he does reluctantly).

P1: I think it’s about time we wrap this up, we need to be getting home.

Me: Sure. Look, there are no wrong answers here. You two were forthcoming and genuine in your responses. You expressed opinions shared by millions of Americans and maybe discovered a few things you want to explore on your own. That’s precisely why I do this.

I appreciate your time and hope we can sit down again sometime. You’ll see me around, stop by and say hello!

(I shake hands with both of them).

P2: I’d like that.

P1: Maybe, if I recover from this one! My clock gets wound a little tight sometimes!

(We all laugh).

Me: I want to leave you with this. I’m a US Navy Veteran. I have a deep love and respect for our Country and your right to have and express any views you want to!

If I were to offer you advice today, it would be this – Remain curious. Don’t make judgements based on the opinions of others. Demand facts from multiple sources. The choices we have ahead of us are too important to do otherwise.

The truth matters!

(They shake their heads in agreement).

I appreciate you sharing your views with me today! They both say they enjoyed the conversation, and we departed.